Dr Michael Stevens

Dr Michael Stevens

Mike (nō Kāi Tahu ki Awarua) is a Senior Lecturer in Māori History interested in knowledge born out of cross-cultural entanglement and colonisation in the long nineteenth-century. He focuses primarily on southern New Zealand’s colonial and maritime histories, especially as they relate to Kāi Tahu families and communities.

His PhD examined changes and continuities in southern Kāi Tahu life as illustrated by te hopu tītī ki Rakiura, better known as muttonbirding: the annual harvest of juvenile sooty shearwaters from islands clustered around Stewart Island. Mike was raised in this tradition and continues to participate in it.

Coast New Zealand

Season 3
Episode
Date & time
 
5: Kaipara Harbour
* NEW EPISODE *
5: Kaipara Harbour
Mon 4 February·7:30pm
Rec
 
 
Mon 4 February·10:30pm
4: North Otago
* NEW EPISODE *
4: North Otago
Mon 28 January·7:30pm
Rec
 
 
Mon 28 January·10:30pm
 
 
Tue 29 January·11:30am
 
 
Fri 1 February·9:30pm
 
 
Sat 2 February·5:30am
 
 
Sat 2 February·1:30pm
 
 
Sun 3 February·8:30pm
 
 
Mon 4 February·4:45am
 
 
Mon 4 February·10:30am
3: Bay Of Plenty
 
3: Bay Of Plenty
Tue 22 January·11:30am
 
 
Fri 25 January·9:30pm
 
 
Sat 26 January·5:30am
 
 
Sat 26 January·1:30pm
 
 
Sun 27 January·8:30pm
 
 
Mon 28 January·4:45am
 
 
Mon 28 January·10:30am